The Irish Laboratory Awards

Judges & Judging

An independent panel of recognised and expert judges, representing the laboratory industry, will determine the winners of the Irish Laboratory Awards.

Our focus is to deliver a balanced judging assessment from industry leaders who will bring their extensive knowledge, enthusiasm and expertise to the judging process ensuring that the winning entries are truly outstanding and worthy of receiving an Irish Laboratory Award.

The panel is carefully selected to ensure the Awards judging process is fair and objective. The judges are bound by a strict confidentiality agreement and are required to declare any conflict of interest in entries over which they deliberate, in which case that entry will be reallocated. The integrity of this process lies at the very heart of all that we do.

We recognise and respect the sensitive nature of the information submitted in the entries. Submissions are not disclosed or discussed outside the judging process. We do not publish the names of companies, organisations or individuals that have not been shortlisted for an Award, nor will we reproduce any information from your entry unless prior permission is given.

A comprehensive judging process has been put together to decide the worthy winners of The Irish Laboratory Awards:

Judging Process

  1. After the closing date for receiving submissions all entries will be sent for the first round of review.
  2. Entries will be carefully scrutinised with the best selected to go forward to the shortlist for each category.
  3. The shortlist of finalists will be published on the Awards website.
  4. Judges are divided into a minimum of two panels, ensuring any potential conflict is avoided.
  5. The judges will score each of the entries allocated to them against a predetermined set of scores.
  6. Scores are then collected and collated, with the entrant receiving the highest overall score being declared the winner of that category.
  7. The winners will be revealed at the annual awards ceremony.

The judge's decision is final and no correspondence, telephone, email or communication of any kind will be entered into in relation to decisions reached.

The 2018 Judging Panel will be announced soon.
 Please view last year's judging panel below.


Matt Moran

Director, BioPharmaChem Ireland

Dr. Andrew Roche

Scientific Director, Global Validation, Scientific Affairs, ICON Central Laboratories

Irene Regan

President, Academy of Clinical Science & Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Fionnuala Hickey

Research Fellow & Lab Manager, Trinity Centre for Health Sciences, Tallaght Hospital & Executive Committee Member, Irish Research Staff Association

Dr. Phil Hemmingway

Scientific Programme Manager, Science Foundation Ireland

Conor O'Brien

Honorary President, Irish Science Teachers Association

Patrick Hobbs

Former President, Institute of Chemistry of Ireland & Editor, Irish Chemical News

Dr. Mark Glynn

Head of Learning Innovation Unit, Dublin City University




Top »

Facebook Page Twitter Page Visit our Linkedin page! Youtube Channel
Sponsors & Supporters
Air Products
Enterprise Ireland
BioPharmaChem Ireland
Irish Research Staff Association
Molecular Medicine Ireland
The Academy of Clinical Science and Laboratory Medicine
Irish Science Teachers' Association
Institute of Chemistry
Amárach Research Ireland
Communications Partner
The Irish Times